HomeОбразованиеRelated VideosMore From: Gregg Learning

The National Labor Code

1 ratings | 70 views
Several key labor laws have been enacted in the United States over the years. The “pendulum” has swung from a highly union-friendly stance to a more employer-friendly one. Federal lawmakers have taken actions both to hamper unions and to protect them. The National Labor Relations Act, more commonly referred to as the Wagner Act, has been called the Magna Carta of labor and was, by anyone’s standards, pro-union. Passed in 1935, the Wagner Act was an outgrowth of the Great Depression. With employers having to close or cut back their business operations, workers were left with little job security The Labor Management Relations Act, better known as the Taft-Hartley Act, was passed in 1947 as a means to offset the pro-union Wagner Act by limiting union actions. It was considered to be pro-management and became the second major labor law. The third major labor law in the United States, the Landrum-Griffin Act, was passed in 1959 to protect the democratic rights of union members. The need for these member protections grew from instances of corruption within the Teamsters and other unions. The national labor code provides the foundation for understanding and managing within the context of organized labor.
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (0)

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.